One of the factors used to set premiums is your vehicle’s garaging address.

Your garaging address will come under one of two Insurance Rating Districts, based on postcode. The districts are set out in the table below:

Insurance Rating District 1: Consists of the following postcodes:

  • All postcodes between 5000 and 5201 inclusive (with the exception of 5001 and 5174), and
  • Postcodes 5231, 5232, 5233, 5240, 5241, 5242, 5243, 5244, 5245, 5250, 5251, 5252, 5942, and 5950

Insurance Rating District 2:

Any area within the State of South Australia outside the above postcodes, plus the localities listed within the following postcode areas:

Postcodes 5118 Concordia, 5157 McHarg Creek, 5172 Pages Flat, 5173 Aldinga Beach, 5118 Kangaroo Flat, 5172 Hope Forest, 5172 Willunga Hill, 5173 Silver Sands, 5118 Kingsford, 5172 Kuitpo Colony, 5172 Willunga South, 5244 Harrogate, 5120 Buckland Park, 5172 Kyeema, 5172 Yundi, 5252 Kanmantoo and 5157 Ashbourne

The districts are divided by a fixed boundary via postcode and, in some areas, localities within postcodes.

Each district has its own set of premium rates for each premium class. The difference in premiums between Districts 1 and 2 reflects the difference in the number of CTP claims and the average cost of CTP claims arising from at-fault vehicles, based on garaging addresses.

If you live on or near a postcode boundary, the premium for your vehicle may be different to the premium for other vehicles registered to nearby addresses, as they may be in a different Insurance Rating District.

Review of current postcode boundaries

The current Insurance Rating Districts were established in 2002. Since this time, some rural areas around Adelaide have become metropolitan, through urbanisation and other changes to population distribution. The CTP Regulator has initiated a review of the Insurance Rating District boundaries, to consider the CTP claims experience of vehicles based on their garaging address.

Once the review is complete, the Regulator will determine whether revising the current boundaries is appropriate.