What you can claim

The LSS provides treatment, care and support for people who have sustained very serious lifelong injuries as a result of a motor vehicle accident in South Australia on or after 1 July 2014, regardless of fault.


The LSS is a no-fault scheme, which means that at-fault drivers who sustain serious lifelong injuries can receive necessary and reasonable treatment, care and support.

Types of very serious injuries include:

  • Paraplegia and quadriplegia
  • Brain injury
  • Severe burns
  • Amputation
  • Blindness

Depending on your eligibility and circumstances, you may be eligible to lodge a CTP claim for compensation as well as a claim under the LSS. Find out who can make a CTP claim.

Applications for the LSS must be submitted directly to the Lifetime Support Authority (LSA). Find out how to apply and find more information on eligibility in the LSS Rules.