How is the SA CTP Scheme structured?

  • Four insurers are approved by the Government to provide CTP insurance. AAMI, Allianz, QBE and SGIC underwrite the Scheme and manage the claims against their policies of insurance.
  • All CTP Insurers have entered into a contract with the State that sets their obligations to the Scheme. The contracts, known as the Scheme Documents, are identical and include the CTP Insurer Deed, Regulator Rules, Commercial Deed and Rules. A function of the CTP Regulator is to monitor the CTP Insurers performance against these contracts.
  • A CTP Regulator regulates the Scheme, including CTP Insurers, for the benefit of road users.
  • The Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure issues CTP insurance renewal notices and provides premium collection services as part of the motor vehicle registration process.

See more information on the Competition Scheme and the Regulator’s role.

What has changed in the CTP Scheme?

The CTP Scheme Changes Fact Sheet provides you with easy-to-understand information about the CTP Scheme and how it has changed.

The changes are also summarised below.

Lifetime Support Scheme

The CTP Scheme works in conjunction with the Lifetime Support Scheme (LSS). The LSS is a no-fault scheme which provides treatment, care and support for people who have sustained very serious lifelong injuries in motor vehicle accidents in South Australia. The LSS is administered by the Lifetime Support Authority (LSA) under the Motor Vehicle Accidents (Lifetime Support Scheme) Act 2013.

See more information on the LSS.